Professor McCormick John Rogers named Lincoln Fellow 2021


Professor McCormick John Rogers is one of eight Lincoln Fellows to receive the Order of Lincoln 2021, Illinois’ highest honor for professional and public service achievement.

Rogers, director of the Querrey Simpson Institute for Bioelectronics, has developed several portable electronic devices to monitor the health of babies.

Its technologies, which are designed to bend with the human body, include an implant that provides electrical stimulation to nerves in premature babies and a skin-shaped sticker that monitors vital signs of babies in neonatal intensive care units. In partnership with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Rogers team has deployed thousands of these devices to hospitals in Ghana, India, Kenya and Zambia.

Rogers said he was honored to represent Northwestern with the award in a press release from the University.

“As a Texan who has now spent most of his adult life in Illinois, I developed a deep appreciation for the unique culture and talented people of the state, the political home of one of the greatest presidents of our country, ”Rogers said in the statement.

One of the few researchers from the three national academies – the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Science – Rogers has been recognized nationally for his work. He is a recipient of a MacArthur “Genius” Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Benjamin Franklin Medal.

Other Rogers Lincoln winners include former NASA astronaut Captain Scott Altman and Special Olympics medalist Tommy Shimoda. The recipient, Dr. Joanne Smith, former President and CEO of the Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, passed away on September 6, but she will always be honored.

“Hard work, innovation and determination have long been the foundation of our communities,” Governor JB Pritzker said of Rogers and his colleagues in the statement. “The eight recipients of the Order of Lincoln exhibited all of this and more.”

E-mail: [email protected]

Twitter: @JorjaSiemons

Related stories:

Renowned bioelectronics innovator John Rogers joins Northwestern faculty

Feinberg receives $ 10 million to develop treatments for neurological diseases

FMO leader Carson wins prestigious Illinois award

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply